Original promissory note
that corresponds exactly
with the Deed of Trust in all recitals including the principal amount, dates, and the number of notes/deeds involved. If this information does not match, please contact our office for the appropriate affidavit. The note must also have original signatures.
The note must be marked paid in full
. Please follow the assignments of the note to determine the current legal holder
of the note. If an attorney signs for a client, we require his/her attorney's registration number. We need notarized authorization for other parties to sign.
Original Deed of Trust
or a legible copy of the recorded instrument. Recorded copies can be obtained from the Adams County Clerk and Recorder's Office.
A Request for a Release of Deed of Trust
form with notarized signatures of the holder of the note. Please place a return address on the front of this form so it can be sent back after recording. When this form is recorded, the original note and deed of trust have already been returned. Without a return address, the Clerk and Recorder's Office will be unable to mail the recorded document back to the appropriate party.
A self-addressed stamped envelope
for the return of the note and deed of trust.
to the Public Trustee
is $15.00 per release (full or partial) and $10.00 to record the Release of Deed of Trust, plus a $1.00 Surcharge. If the Release of Deed of Trust is more than one page, please include $5.00 for each additional page that will be recorded. Please send a check made payable to the Public Trustee
for the entire amount. (The total fee for a one (1) page release is $26.00.)
The Clerk and Recorder recording fees have changed. Effective for any Request for Release of Deed of Trust submitted to or received by the Public Trustee's office and processed on or after July 1, 2010, the recording fee for the first page will be $11.00; recording fee for additional pages will be $5.00. Therefore, effective with Releases of Deeds of Trust processed and recorded on or after 7/1/10, the fee for a one page Release will be $26.00. Requests for Releases of Deed of Trust submitted without appropriate recording fees will be rejected.
The release and foreclosure laws are may change if a law is enacted by the Colorado General Assembly and signed by the Governor. Check the Colorado Revised Statutes for the most current laws affecting the Public Trustee's office.